Ancods Agreement

Due to the decline of the Dutch East India Company in the 18th century, it was nationalized by the Dutch government. Modern government eventually became the owner of the company and its ships, including destroyed ships. [7] In 1964, the Dutch proposed the ANCODS agreement through agreements between the Australian government and the WAM. However, the Australian government and the WAM did not take any action until the early 1970s. [2] On November 6, 1972, the agreement between Australia and the Netherlands on shipwrecks was signed at the dawn of the legal dispute between Robinson and the WAM. [1] [2] [7] With the signing of the ANCODS agreement, the interests of the ANCODS agreement are controlled by the ANCODS agreement. This committee is made up of four members, two from the Netherlands and two from Australia, chosen on the basis of their expertise. The current members of Australia are Dr. John PS Bach OAM and Professor Geoffrey C Bolton AO. The Netherlands is represented by Andrea Otte, representative of the Dutch Ministry of Culture, and Eric Stating, a council of the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

[10] The Committee Secretariat is provided by the Maritime Heritage Division of the Department of Sustainable Development, Environment, Water, Population and Municipalities. [10] The Committee is made up of two stakeholder groups, consisting of four museum and government representatives, who are also involved in ANCODS decisions. [1] See the ANCODS legislation below for the full agreement. As part of the ANCODS agreement, Australia took responsibility for dealing with all artifacts recovered from the wrecks, including their recovery, conservation, storage and display. Artifacts have been formally installed in four museums: the Western Australian Maritime Museum, the Australian National Maritime Museum, the Netherlands Maritime Museum and the Silver Museum in Utrecht. However, at the 1997 symposium, it was recommended that all artifacts be returned to the WAM in accordance with modern archaeological standards. On 15 September 2010, plans to transfer artifacts under Dutch tutelage to WAM were completed; The agreement was signed by Australian Ambassador to the Netherlands Lydia Morton and Dutch Culture Minister Judith van Kranendonk aboard the Batavia athin replica in Lelystad, the Netherlands. [12] In the 1960s, the four Dutch shipwrecks were discovered and unearthed off the coast of Western Australia. The Batavia was discovered in 1963 on the Morning Reef near Beacon Island. In the same year, the remains of the Vergulde Draeck were discovered on a reef about 12 km south of Ledge Point.